Wednesday, October 6, 2010

The Ryder Cup


The Ryder Cup (officially the Ryder Cup Matches) is a golf competition between teams from Europe and the United States. The competition is jointly administered by the PGA of America and the PGA European Tour, and is contested every two years, the venue alternating between courses in the United States and Europe. The Ryder Cup is also the name of the trophy, after the person who donated it, Samuel Ryder. The Ryder Cup is unique in the world of golf, and possibly professional sports, as despite being a high-profile event which brings in tens of million dollars in TV and sponsorship the players receive no prize money and compete purely for the victory.

1951 - Pinehurst No. 2 hosts The Ryder Cup Matches won by the Americans 9 1/2 - 2 1/2. Sam Snead is the captain for the U.S. team. Ben Hogan, Jackie Burke, Jimmy Demaret, Dutch Harrison and Lloyd Mangrum also are on the American roster. Course lengthened to 7,007 yards for the competition.


No comments: